Mixed Media Portrait

In junior year the mixed media portrait project was given to get the students to work outside of what they were most comfortable with and with multi mediums to develop a more intriguing and well developed product. The guidelines were fairly open as to what could be done for this project that resulted in students producing pieces that were entirely unique and different from one another.

Up until this project I worked primarily with web design and layout design, and so I wanted to veer far away from this so that I could experience something different and add to my skill set as a designer. I began with tracing a photograph that one of my peers took of me. Originally I had intended to then either bring this onto the computer or use a different material and pen, but I was fascinated with how the tracing paper when paired with other materials created an intriguing look and feel for my project. Using patterned card stock I constructed the background and fixed my tracing to it so that I could create a blending of textures between the two mediums.

Mixed Media Portrait
Mixed Media Portrait
