Font Art

In sophomore year, we were assigned to recreate a portrait using only text. A few months before this assignment was given out, one of my favorite actors had passed away, and I figured that this project would be the perfect way for me to personally give homage to the legendary comedian Robin Williams. I never finished this project for the deadline, but took the file home to finish since it had more value than a project grade to me.

The text that makes up his portrait are the titles of the numerous movies and several television shows that he was a part of. It was extremely cumbersome and mentally taxing in order place and properly shade each title to accurately recreate Robin Williams’s face.

This project, though time consuming, has been one of my favorite in my high school career. It served as an amazing way to experiment with value and typography, and spurred an interest in me to pay close attention to the type in my work for the rest of my career at Valley Tech, and it will be something I continue into my college and professional years.

Font Art
Font Art
